___

High School Counseling
The Role of the School Counselor

As students enter high school, they are each assigned to a school counselor based on the first letter of their last name. The school counselor is the one person at Hingham High School who will work with students for the full duration of high school. Teachers, coaches, and even club sponsors change from time to time, but students will stay with the same school counselor for all four years.

What is the role of the school counselor?  All students will see their school counselor for required tasks such as receiving orientation information, registering for classes, planning their high school curriculum, obtaining college and career information, and scheduling special tests.

School counselors are there to help students achieve their full potential. No one can think very clearly about a math equation or remember a foreign language when a problem is troubling them. Counselors are trained to help students deal with the upsetting issues that can arise during middle school.  Students may have a quick question or a long story to tell. Either way, their school counselor is there to listen and help them find answers to their questions.

School Counselor Assignments

Ms. Kelly Turner, kturner@hinghamschools.org
2023 – A – Carr
2024 – A – Cr
2025 – A – Car
2026 – A – Ci

Ms. Jessica Gawel, jgawel@hinghamschools.org
2023 – Carro – Flo
2024 – Cu – Go
2025 – Cas – Fai
2026 – Cl – F

Ms. Erin Krall, ekrall@hinghamschools.org
2023 – Fly – Kenned
2024 – Gr – Li
2025 – Fal – Kel
2026 – G – K

Ms. Kelly McPeck, kmcpeck@hinghamschools.org
2023 – Kennew – Morr
2024 – Lo – Ne
2025 – Ken – McL
2026 – L – Mor

Mr. Ben Cimmino, bcimmino@hinghamschools.org
2023 – Moy – Ro
2024 – Ni – Se
2025 – McN – Ro
2026 – Moz – Rob

Ms. Jennifer Hart, jhart@hinghamschools.org
2023 – Ru – U
2024 – Sh – Walk
2025 – Ru – Wag
2026 – Rog – Wa

Ms. Cathleen Savery – csavery@hinghamschools.org
2023 – V – Z
2024 – Wals – Z
2025 – Wal – Z
2026 – Wh – Z

The Role of a School Adjustment Counselor

The School Adjustment Counselors are a resource for all students at Hingham High School.  Working both individually and in small groups, the school adjustment counselor’s role is to promote the social-emotional well-being of students.  Often students who have a difficult time adjusting to high school, or may be experiencing some social or emotional upset will see the school adjustment counselor to ensure that they can build skills and strategies to better access the curriculum and to prevent barriers to learning. School adjustment counselors can also provide referrals to outside community services so ongoing therapeutic relationships can be established and maintained when necessary.  School adjustment counselors regularly consult with teachers, families, school counselors, and administrators to provide appropriate support services within the school setting.

School Adjustment Counselor  
Jessica Hoguet 781.741.1560 EXT. 2104

jhoguet@hinghamschools.org 

School Adjustment Counselor                                                        

Kevin Lalli  781.741.1560 EXT. 2147    klalli@hinghamschools.org

Header text

Middle School Counseling
The Role of a School Counselor

Students are assigned to school counselors based on their grade level. Once assigned, the school counselor will work with the student for the duration of their time at Hingham Middle School.

School counselors are there to help students achieve their full potential. No one can think very clearly about a math equation or remember a foreign language when a problem is troubling them. Counselors are trained to help students deal with the upsetting issues that can arise during middle school.  Students may have a quick question or a long story to tell. Either way, their school counselor is there to listen and help them find answers to their questions.

School Counselor Assignments

School Counselors

Grade 6 Counselor- Class of 2029 – Christine Sherman csherman@hinghamschools.org

Grade 7 Counselor – Class of 2028 – Nina McGrath nmcgrath@hinghamschools.org

Grade 8 Counselor – Class of 2027 – Michelle Woodard mwoodard@hinghamschools.org

Counselor for transitions and 504 Plans – Suzanne Darling sdarling@hinghamschools.org

The Role of a School Adjustment Counselor

The School Adjustment Counselors are a resource for all students at Hingham Middle School.  Working both individually and in small groups, the school adjustment counselor’s role is to promote the social-emotional well-being of students.  Often students who have a difficult time adjusting to middle school, or may be experiencing some social or emotional upset will see the school adjustment counselor to ensure that they can build skills and strategies to better access the curriculum and to prevent barriers to learning. School adjustment counselors can also provide referrals to outside community services so ongoing therapeutic relationships can be established and maintained when necessary.  School adjustment counselors regularly consult with teachers, families, school counselors, and administrators to provide appropriate support services within the school setting.

School Adjustment Counslelor Assignments

Grade 6 – Class of 2029 – Brianna Roy broy@hinghamschools.org

Grade 7 – Class of 2028 – Beth Lalli blalli@hinghamschools.org

Grade 8 – Class of 2027 – Erin Cook ecook@hinghamschools.org

Elementary School Counseling

East Elementary Counselors

School Counselor – Georgina Young gyoung@hinghamschools.org

School Adjustment Counselor – Lauren McClain lmcclain@hinghamschools.org

Foster Elementary Counselors

School Counselor – Danielle Campbell daniellecampbell@hinghamschools.org

School Adjustment Counselor – Jaclyn Duggan jduggan@hinghamschools.org

Plymouth River Elementary Counselors

School Counselor – Carolyn St. Laurence cstlaurence@hinghamschools.org

School Adjustment Counselor – A.C. Decker adecker@hinghamschools.org

South Elementary Counselors

School Counselor – Joanne Smith joannesmith@hinghamschools.org

School Adjustment Counselor – Vanessa Bryer vbryer@hinghamschools.org

___

Heather Rodriguez

Director of School Counseling K-12

17 Union Street Hingham, MA 02043

781.741.1560 ext. 2140

hrodriguez@hinghamschools.org